That look in his eyes, a flash fiction story

High courtAnother flash story up on Every Day Fiction, my third and very different from the other two.

That look in his eyes

“It was the strangest day of my life. I lost my court case and he won his. An hour later he died, right there, standing next to me, midway through a sentence. It made no sense at all. Fate gave him a great victory and then took him with the smile still on his face. What kind of justice is that?…”

Read the rest here – That look in his eyes

This story almost wrote itself before I even knew what it was about. It is not the kind of story I was thinking of writing. It just arrived, insistent, all on its own.

Yes, it needed some editing and a change of the ending, but it worked itself out and I enjoyed writing it. the picture above is the High Court of Mumbai where some of the story is set.

Published by

Rohini Gupta

I am a writer of poetry, fiction and non fiction.

3 thoughts on “That look in his eyes, a flash fiction story”

Leave a comment