Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Next week I am doing two workshops at Books and Beyond, the mini Literary Festival of the Bombay Gym, Mumbai. One on Haiku poetry and one on Flash Fiction.

Mini Literary Festival ScheduleFriday, 12th July, from 4.30 pm to 6.00 is my workshop on Haiku, a very short form of poetry which is becoming popular all over the world. Though its hard to write a great haiku, it is not hard to write these less than 17 syllable poems for your own delight.

I will explain what a haiku is and what it is not, read a lot of examples, and in the end, show you how to try and write on your own. You do not need to be a poet to appreciate or write haiku.

On Saturday, 13 July, from 4.00 pm to 5.30 I am doing a second workshop on Flash fiction. Flash is a very short story, often less than 1000 words, sometimes less than 500 or even 100. It is short but it is a story and follows the story form.

I will talk about what makes a flash story and what it is not. In one and a half hour there will not be time for everyone to write a complete story but I will show you how to create an outline which you can take and finish at home. I hope to explain the flash fiction – and short story form  – so that you can continue the journey on your own.

This literary festival is only for members of the Bombay Gym so if you are a member see you there.

