Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Dream Keeper

When you are writing a book it a long and lonely road. It’s just you and the laptop for months or years. How do you survive the grim isolation?

Writers have different methods. Some meet in groups or online in workshops and critique groups. Some read their drafts to friends. I like another method – flash fiction.

Flash fiction is very short, less than 1000 words. Lengths vary. The shortest are six word stories. I like the under 1000 words length, long enough to develop the theme, quick enough to write fast. While a novel takes a year, a flash fiction story can take an afternoon to write and a week to polish.

It’s very satisfying. The short lengths enable you to take chances, try new things, play around in a way you cannot do in a longer piece. It’s quickly finished and there are a growing number of websites to submit. Some are quick to respond and some take several months before sending out an acceptance or rejection.

This story came easily, was easy to write and flowed.

Dream Keeper :

“Ria had entered dark dreams before but rarely this terrible. The darkness blinded her for a moment and a thunderous animal roar deafened her. She jumped, hitting a stone wall behind her.

Calm down, she told herself, trying to still her pounding heart, I am a dream keeper. I am trained for this. There is no dream I can’t handle….”

 

Read the rest here – Dream Keeper on Yesteryear Fiction, 07 November 2012.

It’s a humorous piece that took shape on its own much before I knew what I was writing. The trigger came from a friend who panics at the sight of cats, even tiny kittens. I did not set out to write about it. The mind silently stores these little experiences and I knew it would show up in a story somewhere but I did not expect it to come up in this humorous fantasy story of dreams, nightmares and kittens.

The muse is often surprising, leaving you wondering, now where did that come from? I don’t really know where this came from but I enjoyed writing it. Perhaps you will enjoy reading it.

